

Renewal Rate of MEPs (European Elections 10th-13th June 2004)

Country	Newly elected MEPs	Re-elected MEPs	Total	Rate
Germany	37	62	99	37%
Austria	6	12	18	33%
Belgium	12¹	12	24	50%
Cyprus	6	0	6	_2
Denmark	9	5	14	64%
Spain	31 ³	23	54	57%
Estonia	6	0	6	-
Finland	8	6	14	57%
France	414	37	78	52%
Greece	21	3	24	87%
Hungary	24	0	24	-
Ireland	10 ⁵	4	13	77%
Italy	53 ⁶	25	78	68%
Latvia	8	0	8	-
Lithuania	13	0	13	-
Luxembourg	3	3	6	50%
Malta	5	0	5	-
The Netherlands	13	14	27	48%
Poland	54	0	54	-
Portugal	18 ⁷	6	24	75%
Czech Republic	24	0	24	_
UK	22 ⁸	56	78	28%
Slovakia	14	0	14	-
Slovenia	7	0	7	-
Sweden	16	3	19	84%

Source: According to the site of the European Parliament, 2004 Data collated and processed by the Robert Schuman Foundation, © FRS

 $^{^{1}}$ Véronique de Keyser and Philippe Claeys were respectively appointed MPs in 2001 and 2003, hence they were not therefore elected for the first time in 2004.

 $^{^2}$ The countries for which there is no renewal rate MPs were entered the EU in 2004 and have therefore only taken part in one European election.

³ Esther Herranz Garcia was appointed MEP in 2002 but was elected for the first time in 2004

⁴ Marie-Hélène Descamps, Henry Weber and Dominique Vlasto entered the European Parliament in 2002, between August and September 1997 and 2000 respectively.

⁵ Sean O'Neachtain entered the European Parliament in 2002.

⁶ Paolo Bartolozzi and Mario Borghezio have both been MEPs since 2001. Marica Frassoni was already MEP in 1999 but she was elected in Belgium.

⁷ Manuel Antonio dos Santos has been MEP since 2001.

 $^{^{8}}$ Jim Allister, MP in Northern Ireland was MEP from 1980 to 1982.